What’s With You Hoity-Toity Artists?

November 18, 2011 § 3 Comments

Super long, self important artist statements. Am I the only one who hates them?

Most of the time the language artists spew off about themselves and their work is Masters Degree level jargon, long winded, and edited to death. I don’t know if I’m too stupid to understand it, or they’re stupid and writing a bunch of nonsense.

The last time I checked, artists usually went to art school…if at all. Where did this expectation of sounding like you came from a law background come from?

Fair Rabbit
www.FairRabbit.com

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to What’s With You Hoity-Toity Artists?

  • ravenari says:

    I don’t know if I’m too stupid to understand it, or they’re stupid and writing a bunch of nonsense.

    I think it’s this one.

    My least favourite part of entering shows or trying to get into galleries is the artist’s statement (and the resume, because I don’t have a fancy degree behind my name; or I *do*, just in media studies, and not in artwork). There’s – on the internet somewhere – an ‘artist statement generator,’ that’s randomised and comes up with a bunch of crap. I actually know one artist who liked it so much he uses it as his actual statement. The ridiculous result of that is that it’s gotten him ‘respect’ in the art world. You know…because of the jargon. *cries*

    • Fair Rabbit says:

      I agree. I recently had to write my first artist statement for an interview and I felt like such a chump because saying you do art cuz it’s fun just doesn’t cut it. There has to be a theme or a special idea or something in order for people to respect you it seems. :-p

      Btw I checked out your art portfolio. You have a very unique style! The Totems pieces are stunning! (And some advice if you’d like. I noticed you have a flash site. If you switch over to normal html it gets you more views. For some reason flash doesn’t allow tags or something so you can’t find them on search engines)

      • ravenari says:

        Thanks for the advice! Much appreciated. And yeah, artist’s statements…and the artist’s resume! So much conflicting advice. I miss the days when they actually decided what art to put in a gallery or in a magazine or something based on the actual artwork. *grin*

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s With You Hoity-Toity Artists? at Fair Rabbit Art.

meta

