Bargain Hunting for Starving Artists

December 5, 2011 § 3 Comments

I’ve really gotten into thrifting lately. After the Toy Division show a few days ago I went to Goodwill to look for stuff to paint on. To my absolute astonishment, I came across this beauty.It’s a child-sized Barbie grand piano! That WORKS. Sure the legs were broken off and there was no stool with it, but it was only $10. Used, these things go for over $250 on ebay. Sheesh. Talk about a great deal.

I also found seven super cute purses. They’re priced at $4.95 each but three were half off for only $2.50 today. These will make super cute, wearable art (I’ll paint something simple on them and sell for under $100).If you go craft supply shopping, USE COUPONS. I found an Aaron’s Brothers art store and the first thing I see when I walk in is a huge display of packaged canvases. I got a 10-pack of 8″x10″ canvases, using a 50% off one item coupon, WITH tax, for only $13 something. O_OIf you shop smart, you can find tons of cool stuff for your art supplies. If you dig through crap long enough, you’re bound to find some crazy awesome stuff of your own.

Fair Rabbit
www.FairRabbit.com 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Bargain Hunting for Starving Artists

  • olletron says:

    This is incredible! I don’t know what Goodwill is, is it a charity shop? If yes, you find some awesome stuff in charity shops. You also find cool stuff to paint on in skips and places like that if you’re bold enough to go searching. That piano is incredible, and I can’t believe how cheap it was. Also, I am super jealous of those canvases. I’ll have to get myself some coupons :D

    • Fair Rabbit says:

      Yes, Goodwill is a chain of thrift stores (I had to look up what charity shop was haha). But it’s essentially that. People donate their old or used stuff to the store for free, then the store sells the stuff super cheap and donates like 80% of the sales back to the community. Helping people afford suits, job training, etc. It’s a good deal for everyone.
      What is a skip?
      And I’ve started painting on the piano. It looks incredible so far. Bought some legs for it and everything. I’ll have a post up tomorrow on the progress. :D

  • olletron says:

    I’m actually really excited to see! I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything painted on a piano before. It’s a combination of my two loves :D. A skip is like, when people don’t want stuff any more, they hire a skip which is like, a big yellow metal thing that you put all your crap inside and people come and take it away. It’s completely open so you can see what’s in it. People throw some ridiculous things away! You can often find bits of old furniture with really nice engravings on them and stuff like that. I think it’s fair play because, after all, one man’s junk is another man’s treasure :D

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bargain Hunting for Starving Artists at Fair Rabbit Art.

meta

